Sunday, 1 March 2015 | 19:17:25

UK MPs back renaming Big Ben regardless of oppositions

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly versionSend by emailSend by email


(What Is This?)
Views count:17
Comment count: 0
Date : Sat, 2012-06-02 11:38
Forty MPs have signed a letter to show their support of a controversial plan to rename one of London’s most famous landmarks, the tower housing Big Ben, as the Queen Elizabeth Tower, irrespective of UK public oppositions.

In a formal letter, the majority of British lawmakers lent their support to the plan to rename the tower to mark the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee, the 60th anniversary of her ascension to the British throne. 

However, a YouGov poll, which was released on May 2, 2012, showed that nearly half of Britons condemn the British lawmakers’ plan to rename the tower housing Big Ben after the UK Queen. 

According to the survey, 44% of the British public oppose changing the name of the Clock Tower, compared to 30% who support the renaming. 

Despite the UK public opposition, Tory MP Tobias Ellwood, who proposed the move in March, wrote to Commons leader Sir George Young urging him to raise the matter with the House of Commons Commission for formal consideration later this month. 

Meanwhile, on May 4, 2012, anti-monarchy campaign group Republic welcomed the YouGov poll, showing a clear majority are opposed to changing the name of the tower. 

“The public have sensibly rejected this idea out of hand. Big Ben is a famous landmark associated with our parliament, the home of British democracy. People don’t want that landmark to be changed or named after the Queen,” said Republic’s chief executive Graham Smith. 

“This poll shows just how out of touch our MPs are when it comes to the monarchy. They fall over themselves to pay tribute to our un-elected head of state while the vast majority people simply aren’t interested in their fawning.” 

Furthermore, earlier on March, the Labour MP for Blyth Valley in Northumberland launched a campaign to stop renaming the east tower of the Houses of the Parliament after the second longest reigning monarch. 

News reference:

Vote to this news